Nostalgia Bliss: High School Edition

With the school year starting, I wanted to reflect on the life-changing seasons of my education. I will start with high school..it was quite an eye-opener. Here are some lessons I wish I knew but am glad that I learned later in life.

  1. High School is temporary, not your final destination. There is life after high school. You can be who you want to be. Trust me, my dorky self thought that I could never surpass the hierarchy of popularity. High School popularity is temporary. Only four years… I am better off making something of myself as an adult. Look at ya girl now.
  2. Don’t envy the “beautiful, popular people,” you don’t know what they had do to get where they are.¬†I wanted to be liked and be like them. Their lives seemed¬†spicy and fun…parties, boyfriends/girlfriends, high school elitism. I just lived the mediocre high school life. But you know what? Looking back, I was just fine. No need to envy the beautiful people because I am better off now.
  3. Have a quality group of friends, not a quantity of acquaintances.
  4. Be yourself. Easier said than done but I just needed to be Bianca rather than pretending to be something that I am not.
  5. Chorus saved my life. It was the one part of high school that made me smile. I looked forward to singing with my classmates. I would relive those memories over again. A special shoutout to Mr. Greg Smith for teaching to me sing, for teaching me about leadership (was section leader sophomore year), for teaching me to be a good human being. You will always hold a special place in my heart. I would not be the person I am today without your dedication.

So that is my reflection of high school. What are the lessons high school you reflect on?

Spicy

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

