Life Before Future Lawyer Bianca

ПечатьFun Fact about me: I wanted to be a pharmacist but after Organic Chemistry, I realized that dream died. But prior to that realization, I had wanted to be lawyer since high school. My dad was against me being a lawyer because his perception of lawyers was “Lawyers lie and can’t be Christian” (weird but true).

My lawyer moment: I went to Haiti on a mission trip after the earthquake. A defining moment of the trip was when I encountered a young boy, about the age of twelve, who did not know how to write his own name. I do not think twice about writing my name because that is one of the first skills I learned in school. At that moment, I thought “How many more people in this world do not know how to write their own name?” I also wondered how many times illiterate people have been taken advantage of, due to a lack of knowledge of what has been written. When I wrote that twelve year old boy’s name on his nametag, he was elated to see his name in ink for the first time. This moment punctured my heart. It changed my outlook. I finally understood why my parents enforced education because there are people (like them) who did not have the same opportunities as me. I had a different worldview that day. From that moment forward, I realized that even the smallest thing, like one’s name, can make a difference and give a person more of an identity.

Since my biology degree was not going to happen, I knew wanted to make a difference, to reach people delegitimized by society. I took a career aptitude test and I lined up with “law-related fields” which brought me back to my original career choice: the law.

Then what happened next was a burning bush moment. After I had a meeting with a Career Services counselor, her secretary said, “A professor left some LSAT study materials and a book of law schools in the U.S.. Do you know anyone that would want them?” Yup…that was my sign. So that was the route I took.

My dad eventually had a change of heart. I changed my major to Political Science and started on the track to where I am now. I am in my last year of law school looking towards the future. I desire to be an immigration attorney, fighting for the people and kids like that young Haitian boy I encountered. I want to use my knowledge for good and for others.

So the moral of the story is: Defining moments can come from anywhere, including your past. Never give up. Keep growing.

Puncture

Blissfully,

Bianca

One thought on “Life Before Future Lawyer Bianca

Leave a Reply

