Blissful Reasons Why I Could Never Be The Black Bachelorette

636307302514747894-146144-0177So I was intrigued. The first African-American Bachelorette made her debut on primetime television. I have never watched the Bachelor/Bachelorette series but I made an exception. While turned on by the beautiful male specimen, I also thought about Rachel, the Bachelorette. I could never do what she has decided to do: To catapult into love by picking a guy from a group of strangers in a matter of months.

Here are some reasons why I could never be the Black Bachelorette:

  1. I have a group of men surrounding me and wanting my attention. I love men. I am an extrovert. But 31 men surrounding me would make me claustrophobic.
  2. I am too awkward for TV. I have to express my quirky, awkward self  to a guy on national television. NO WAY!
  3. I do not like being alone with a guy. Weird, I know but let me explain. Things like  “Hey, can I steal you away?” “Let’s go out and talk.” or a guy pulling me or taking my hand and making me go with him. I do not function like that. I need witnesses around me and public moments before I can trust being alone with a guy.
  4. My heart is one organ so I can’t split it to every guy on the show. Too many men to keep up with.  I do not know how to juggle men. Some girls consider that a talent. I do not know how to serial date so yeah…
  5. I am traditional. You have to work for the benefits of me. The physical aspects will not be instant; I need to be comfortable with you and really have a connection with you. Kissing comes after several dates, not the first date. Meeting my family and important people in my life is a big step. I date for marriage not for a fling. A ring means access to privacy in the bedroom. I don’t give myself easily to men.
  6. I don’t function well with heartbreak. No one does but I am dedicated and trusting. I am very sensitive. I think of Proverbs 4:23-Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it. So I don’t give my heart to anyone.

So, you will not see me on the Bachelor or Bachelorette..sorry ya’ll. I will fall in love the old-fashion way.  I am smart (future lawyer), kind, loyal, creative, loveable Christ-IMG_1064follower. Call me crazy but I guard my feelings and heart. Good luck to Rachel and her path to love. People fall in love in different ways but traditional is the way I roll. Maybe there is someone out there for me or not. Either way, I will get a dog. But loving myself, God, and the people who love me for me is my path of love.

Catapult

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

