5 Blissful Ordinary Parental Lessons that Shaped My Extraordinary Life

I don’t know about you but I thought my parents were SO uncool in my pre-teen and teen years. My parents ran a Haitian household in America. My parents are God-fearing Christians who love their children. My parents had rules and standards that I thought was too much. Now, as an adult, I see how blessed I am to have to have their love, discipline, and guidance.

So here are some of the many ordinary lessons I live by  thanks to mom and dad.

  1. You can never go wrong with following Christ. As I grow in my faith, He has not failed me once. The world’s opinion tends to fade away the older I get. Not everyone has your best interests at heart. Some people actually want you to fail. But God’s intentions is to give you a life abundant in Him. Following Him is the best decision I made.
  2. Be a good citizen. Now I was always confused when my mom said “Be a good citizen” every time I left the house. What my mom meant was to have good character everywhere you go. Have integrity, be kind, be trustworthy, be respectful.  Believe it or not, I got a Citizenship Award in school and it clicked. Actions speak louder than words.
  3. Never envy another person’s life because you do not know what they did to attain that lifestyle. As a kid growing up, my mom always said “I send you to school to learn, not to have a fashion show.” My parents did provide clothes, food, and supplies to live on. I did not have or wear the latest trends. My parents wanted me to show off my mind. And showing my mind has paid off because I am almost done with law school. Besides, some of the beautiful people that I went to high school with are not all well off. The uncool kid is going places, thanks mom and dad.
  4. Give. I saw my parents give their time and resources to help people. They never forget where they came from. My parents did not have the life I had but that did not stop them from giving to others. My Heavenly Father and earthly parents have given so much to me. So I will give back as they give to me.
  5. Be You. My parents always say that “I am fearfully and wonderfully made. I am smart, beautiful and kind.” Not everyone in the world will like me. But my parents say to be me in spite of it. So I will be Blissfully Me.

So I will encourage you with my parents’ ordinary lessons of life. They have truly made the difference in my life. Take these ordinary steps and experience the extraordinary changes that come with it.

Ordinary

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

