I’m Black and I’m Ok With That.

There would be times in my life where I wish my skin were lighter. There were time where I wish my hair would not be so “coarse” and “nappy.” There were times where I wish I was not the “only black kid” in my class. There were times where I wished people would not stare. There were times where I thought that being white would be better than being black.

But that was then, this is now. I’m Black and I Am Ok with That.

There are times where I love the colorful clothes that illuminates my melanin. There are times where I love how many ways I can wear my hair. There are times where I feel privileged to have experienced higher learning. There are times where I walk proudly because I am Bianca. 

I’m Black and I Am Ok with That. 

My skin was created out of dust. I was made in the image of my Creator. His path for me was laid out before the foundation of the world. My heritage is full of pain, struggle, love, redemption, advocacy, and longevity. People died and sacrificed themselves so I could be where I am today. 

I’m Black and I am Ok with That.

I do not boast that I am better. A month does not define my excellence, I do that 365 days a year. A month does recognize my heritage as the fabric of America. The world may not agree with me but I believe I am valuable. I believe my culture and heritage should be heard. To know my history as a part of God’s story.

I’m Black and I am Ok with That.

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

