The Story of the Filthy Oreo

via Daily Prompt: Filthy

As a pre-teen until my early 20s, I thought my skin was filthy. Not because I did not shower, but because I had more melanin than my friends. I was teased by my white classmates  for “acting white” and teased by my black classmates for “not being black enough.” I was at war with the fact that I was  an”Oreo.” I just wanted to be me but I felt like I needed to change colors to whoever I was talking to. Sometimes when I showered, I would try to see if I could be lighter if I scrubbed harder. I remembered as a kid thinking if I drank white milk, then I would be white. When my mom told me that my color would not change, I said “So I’ll be like this forever!?!”

One of my favorite Bible verses I like to declare is Psalm 139:14: I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

img_1453

It was not enough to read this verse but believe this verse and make it my truth. Being at war with the color of my skin was telling God, “You made a mistake on me.” FYI: If you did not know, God does not make mistakes.  

The filthy sin I battled with was the envy of my neighbor’s physical skin. Sin is the filthy skin I battle with but the beauty is Jesus died for the filthy things I say, do, and think about myself. 

Fast forward today, I love my black skin because God fearfully and wonderfully made me that way. My features are in the image of my Creator. I do not need to label myself the way society believes me to be but the way my Heavenly Father sees me: Sanctified, Sassy, Smart, Silly, Quirky, Beautiful, Blissful Bianca, Future Esq.

img_2047I will encourage you with this: You are fearfully and wonderfully made. Your features are beautiful because God made them before your parents even knew you. You are not a mistake but a gift. You are special. Love who you are because you are priceless in the King’s Eyes.

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

