My Lenses on Life

Hello Friends,

This is a new segment of my blog. The world through my lenses is a different place. Experiences define how I see the world. Additionally, I am in law school so I see the legal worldview in various cases.  The biggest worldview I draw my beliefs from is Jesus Christ and His Law. This is not pushing a political agenda on everyone but I am giving you my worldview through a Biblical lens.

My worldview topic today is discrimination in minority communities. The Bible says that God made man in His image (Genesis 1:26). There is no part in the Bible where a race is more purer or flawless than the other. God says that we are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14).

Because of the fall of Adam, we, as the HUMAN RACE, fall short everyday. No one is perfect but most people try to live good, decent lives and keep moving forward. But that is not always the case…Some people discriminate and punish others who are just trying to live.

It seems like our society is “comfortable” with racial profiling and killing unarmed minorities, for whatever reason. I understand that police officers have a duty to serve and protect. I also know that not all police officers are bad cops but there is a problem when minorities get shot and killed (even though they were peaceful) from certain police officers just because they look suspicious. A current event of what I stated was  Terence Crutcher, a person complying with officers but he looked like a “bad dude.” What do you mean by that? He was father driving home from night school.

When I see stories like this, I get afraid and scared for my father and brother. They are the sweetest and calmest people you would ever meet. But the word, father, brother, person, does not matter when your skin is dark. I am afraid for them in the sense that a police officer or any person would say “he looks funny,” “he looks like a bad dude,” “he looks suspicious” may mean a shot in the back. 

PEOPLE!!!! We need to see our men, no matter what color they are, as father, sons, nephews, uncles, veterans, law-abiding citizens, students, etc. As a Christian and a person, I see people AS PEOPLE. There are good ones and bad ones. This “trend” hurts. It hurts my community. It hurts my family. Whether you deny it or not, it affects people you know and love.

Church people, WE NEED TO STAND FOR OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS. Injustice against one person affects us all. If we want the world to love and follow Jesus, we need to stand up for believers and people who are unjustly mistreated, not just the unborn babies. 

You cannot turn a blind eye away from this growing issue. The bad police officers who take the life of innocent people SHOULD BE PUNISHED. The system needs to reform and hold the people who are supposed to protect us accountable. 

People, we cannot keep hating one another as if God made a mistake creating someone different than you. You and your works are filthy rags. You need a Savior just like me. Jesus  did not come for the white people or the American people. Jesus came to the whole World. He breathed existence to everything we have today. We need to love and see people as God’s Creation. We need to judge by character, not by skin color. 

I will end with this Scripture:

Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals,and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them. God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.” Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. 30 And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds in the sky and all the creatures that move along the ground—everything that has the breath of life in it—I give every green plant for food.” And it was so. God saw all that he had made, and it was very good.-Genesis 1:26-31

 

Blissfully,

Bianca

Leave a Reply

